overland crews. Northern Saskatchewan's communication system, with more than 850 two-way radio sets in operation in towers, vehicles, aircraft and forest camps, plays a vital role in the detection and suppression of forest fires. These activities have been assisted recently by the use of helicopters.

Alberta.—The 159,064 sq. miles of provincial forest in Alberta are administered by the Forests Division of the Department of Lands and Forests at Edmonton. The Division is composed of four forestry branches under a Director of Forestry—Administration, Forest Protection, Forest Management and Forest Surveys.

The Administration Branch supervises all branches, maintains general control over revenue and expenditure, deals with personnel and conducts a Forestry Training School which offers in-service training for forest officers and other employees.

The Forest Protection Branch has charge of the protection of the forests and of all field personnel. For ease of administration the forested area has been divided into seven Divisions, each responsible for the forest within its boundary. These Divisions are composed of Ranger Districts in which all activities are supervised by the district forest officer responsible to his divisional superintendent. The divisional staffs include: forest superintendent, assistant forest superintendent, divisional forester, chief ranger, mechanical foreman, chief check scaler, assistant check scaler, divisional clerk, assistant clerk, radio operator, stenographer, and seasonal help such as standby fire crews, forest lookout men and general labourers and construction crews. These employees are responsible for fire prevention and suppression, supervision of logging and milling operations, timber cruising, and construction and maintenance of forestry projects.

The functions of the Forest Management Branch include the approval and acceptance of management and annual operating plans prepared for other Crown lands, proper land use, proper disposal of Crown timber and the direction of field officers in the administration of all contracts related thereto. This extends to all phases, including acceptance of applications, cruising of timber, drawing up of contracts, periodic inspections of areas to assure proper logging and utilization practices, scaling of products cut, collection of dues and reforestation of areas denuded through cutting, fire, etc.

The Forest Surveys Branch maintains the provincial forest inventory and prepares and maintains detailed inventories by management units; prepares long- and short-term management and protection plans; provides timber application forest-type maps; conducts other work pertaining to photogrammetry and forest-cover maps; and provides technical drafting and mapping services to the Forest Service and general public.

Conservation of 9,000 sq. miles of forest comprising the Rocky Mountains Forest Reserve is administered by a joint provincial-federal agency—the Eastern Rockies Forest Conservation Board with offices at Calgary (see p. 107). The area is composed of three forests which are subdivided into ranger districts. The Superintendent in charge of each forest is responsible to the Director of Forestry; his decisions are based on policies formed by the Board, which comprises one federal and two provincial members. This Reserve includes the headwaters of the main prairie river system.

Research in general is carried out by the federal Department of Forestry, which maintains the Kananaskis Experiment Station.

British Columbia.—The productive forest land of British Columbia in 1958 was inventoried at 208,411 sq. miles and, in addition, there were 59,227 sq. miles of forest land classed as non-productive. Of the productive area, immature timber occurred on 95,739 sq. miles; 84,275 sq. miles carried matured timber with a total volume of 318,000,000,000 cu. feet; 28,397 sq. miles, including areas of recent burn, cut-over or windfall not yet re-stocked, were unclassified.

For administrative purposes, the province is divided into five Forest Districts with regional headquarters at Vancouver, Prince Rupert, Prince George, Kamloops and Nelson. Further decentralization of authority is effected by subdivision of the Forest Districts